Contrast of Fibre

22 Jan

On my right, I’ve got a ball of yarn close to the size of my head: Ella Rae Mega yarn in an intriguing dark teal with red-violet running through it. 

On my left, I have a 7/8 finished hat in a delicate seeming DK: It’s from Orappa Creek Fibre Art in Alberta that I picked up while at a farmer’s market in Edmonton last weekend and it’s a delightful margarine yellow. I love yellow.

On my right, I’ve got plans to make the Woodland Hoodlet by tiny owl knits, an utterly delicious pattern in Woodland Knits [a book that makes me want to knit just about everything in it].

On my left, I’ve got a relatively plain garter stitch slouchy tuque that I may or may not adorn with a pom-pom. And while I am slightly displeased with my slight laddering going on [which never, ever, happens to me. Ok, I admit it: I’m not just slightly displeased, I am horribly disappointed with myself] because of using dpns instead of my usual beloved circular needles [due to a lack of sizing, le sigh], I am in love love love looooooove with the garter stitch. There is always just the most amazing comfort with garter stitch that cannot be explained in words other than “squishy” and “mmmmm”. 

But seriously, I hate laddering, guys. However, I am still adoring both sides, left and right.

Leave a comment