Blanket Obsession

12 Feb

Sometimes I will get really stuck on a project. And by stuck, I don’t mean getting knitter’s block, I mean I get slightly obsessed with working on it. That has been happening lately with my Ten Stitch Blanket and I just can’t stop!

Ten Stitch Blanket

Right now it’s about the size of a small lap blanket/possible baby blanket and I’d like it to be big enough to wrap around you comfortably.

Ten Stitch Blanket 2

 

When I first started I wasn’t sure about having the different colours; the original blanket is made with Noro, which I LOVE [ok, I admit it, I love anything made with Noro] but I can’t reason my way into buying enough Noro to make a blanket with [there is a small section in the blanket knit with leftover Noro from my hat/Pathways Blanket. And now that I’ve been trying to downsize for the move the idea of making projects with leftover balls is very appealing to me. The most surprising part of this blanket is that Kyleman thinks it’s an ingeniously awesome.

The fact that this is entirely garter stitch and yet has a little something more technically exciting to it is something I love too. I adore garter stitch, I hate knitting large quantities of it. So this blanket lets me enjoy the stitch without getting bored. However, beware the first little bit of it [meaning the middle red section in the pictures] is a little bit of a annoying  bee-otch. Essentially constant turns that just made me want it to be BIG. I’m so excited for this to be done just so I can cuddle up in it.

My poor other projects though, they’re getting over-shadowed and ignored until I get tired of the Ten Stitch. Except for a super secret birthday present for a little princess. I was pretty impressed with myself for that one.

 

Leave a comment